Board of Directors

Mervyn Keene (aged 68)*#+
Non-Executive Chairman
Mervyn joined the Company in 1989 and became Managing Director of the former Garden Leisure Division.  He was appointed Group Finance Director in 1993 and became Non-Executive Chairman in June 2010.  He is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.


Stephen Grant (aged 57)
Chief Executive Officer

Steve joined MV Sports & Leisure Limited from the accountancy profession in 1990 becoming Finance Director in that year.  He was appointed Managing Director of MV in 1996 and became Chief Executive Officer of the Group in June 2010.


Jim Shears (aged 44)
Group Finance Director

Jim joined the Company as Group Financial Controller in 2002.  He was appointed Company Secretary in 2008 and Group Finance Director in June 2010.  He previously worked for the Audit Commission, IFG Group plc and AWG plc where he held various financial roles.  Jim is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.


Phil Ratcliffe (aged 56)
Group Commercial Director

Phil joined MV Sports & Leisure Limited in 1999 and has many years’ experience in commercial and strategic roles within the consumer goods sector, incorporating well known companies such as Car Plan, Waddingtons Games and Mattel. His experience encompasses marketing, licensing, product development, Far East sourcing and account management. Phil is a Fellow of The Chartered Institute of Marketing and was formerly Chairman of The British Toy & Hobby Association.


Simon Morris (aged 71)*#
 Non-Executive Director
Simon has worked in corporate finance for over 30 years, initially at Lazard Brothers and Dillon Read and later with MSB Corporate Finance and Smith & Williamson. He was appointed to the Board in March 2010 and is an experienced non-executive director.


Andy Bestwick (aged 57)*+
Non-Executive Director
Andy was formerly Managing Director of Gardman Holdings Limited.  He has considerable experience in product development, sourcing and supply chain management, especially from Asia, and selling to national and independent retailers.  He was appointed to the Board in April 2010.




Jim Shears 


* Member of the Remuneration Committee
# Member of the Audit Committee
+ Member of the Nominations Committee